CMU Campus
Department Home Undergraduate Graduate CNA CCF Information
Department of         Mathematical Sciences
Events People Colloquia and Seminars Conferences Centers Positions Areas of Research About the Department Alumni
Spring 2015 Events
Mon, Jan 12
4:30 pm
Wean 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Daniel Lacker
Princeton University
A general characterization of the mean field limit for stochastic differential games
Wed, Jan 14
4:30 pm
Wean 8220
Math Colloquium
Solesne Bourguin
Carnegle Mellon
Semicircular limits and transfer principles on the free Poisson chaos
Thu, Jan 15
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Alexander Barvinok
University of Michigan
Computing partition functions in hard problems of combinatorial optimization
Thu, Jan 15
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
Graduate Seminar
Zilin Jiang
Carnegie Mellon University
An Expedition to the World of $p$-adic Numbers
Fri, Jan 16
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Undergraduate Math Colloquium
David Simmons
Chairman and CEO of Pharmaceutical Product Development LL
From CMU Math Major to CEO: Navigating a Career Journey
Tue, Jan 20
12:30 pm
Wean 8201
Math Logic Seminar
James Cummings
Carnegie Mellon
Automorphisms of P(ω1)/finite
Tue, Jan 20
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Tran Minh Binh
BCAM: Basque Center for Applied Mathematics
Nonlinear approximation theory for the homogeneous Boltzmann equation
Tue, Jan 20
4:30 pm
Wean 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Camelia Pop
University of Pennsylvania
Harnack inequalities for degenerate diffusions
Wed, Jan 21
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Nike Sun
MIT
The exact k-SAT threshold for large k, part 1
Wed, Jan 21
4:30 pm
Wean 7218
Math Colloquium
Camelia Pop
University of Pennsylvania
The fractional Laplacian operator and its gradient perturbations
Thu, Jan 22
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
Graduate Seminar
Andy Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
Devlin's Theorem (finally!)
Fri, Jan 23
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Nike Sun
MIT
The exact k-SAT threshold for large k, part 2
Mon, Jan 26
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Zsolt Pajor-Gyulai
University of Maryland
From averaging to homogenization in cellular flows - an exact description of the transition
Thu, Jan 29
4:30 pm
Wean 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Joseph Neeman
University of California, Berkeley
Gaussian noise stability
Fri, Jan 30
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Joseph Neeman
University of California, Berkeley
Some phase transitions in the stochastic block model
Mon, Feb 2
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Christian Keller
University of Southern California
Pathwise Ito Calculus for Rough Paths
Thu, Feb 5
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Sergey Norine
McGill University
Densities of minor-closed families of graphs
Mon, Feb 9
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Johannes Muhle-Karbe
ETH - Zurich
Tue, Feb 10
5:30 pm

SIAM Chapter Seminar
Brian Swenson
CMU
Mon, Feb 16
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Frederi G. Viens
Purdue University
Comparison inequalities on Wiener space
Mon, Feb 23
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Igor Cialenco
IIT
Market making via sub-scale invariant Dynamic Acceptability Indices
Thu, Feb 26
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Milan Bradonjic
Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
TBA
Mon, Mar 2
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Mikhail Zhitlukhin
Steklov Mathematical Institute and High School of Economics, Moscow
Tue, Mar 3
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Snejana Abarji
CMU-Qatar, Carnegie Mellon University
Stability of a hydrodynamic discontinuity
Thu, Mar 5
5:30 pm

SIAM Chapter Seminar
Ryan Tibshirani
CMU
Mon, Mar 23
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Umut Cetin
LSE
TBA
Mon, Mar 30
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Umut Cetin
LSE
TBA
Tue, Mar 31
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Chanwoo Kim
University of Wisconsin
Mon, Apr 6
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Agostino Capponi
Columbia
TBA
Mon, Apr 13
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Thames Sae Sue
CMU
TBA
Tue, Apr 14
5:30 pm

SIAM Chapter Seminar
Daniel Rodriguez
CMU
Thu, Apr 16
1:30 pm

CNA Seminar
Toan Nguyen
Pennsylvania State University
Mon, Apr 20
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Tim Leung
Columbia University
Mon, Apr 27
4:30 pm
Wean 6423
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Todd Kemp
University of California San Diego
TBA
Thu, Apr 30
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Robin Pemantle
UPenn
TBA
Tue, May 5
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Saleh Tanveer
Ohio State University