CMU Campus
Department Home Undergraduate Graduate CNA CCF Information
Department of         Mathematical Sciences
Events People Colloquia and Seminars Conferences Centers Positions Areas of Research About the Department Alumni
Spring 2017 Events
Tue, Jan 17
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Riccardo Cristoferi
CMU
A survey of Gamma-convergence
Tue, Jan 17
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Andrew Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
Ramsey theorems via ultrafilters
Thu, Jan 19
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Mike Molloy
University of Toronto
Entropy Compression and the Lovasz Local Lemma
Mon, Jan 23
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Dylan Possamai
CMAP, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris
An introduction and recent progress on Principal-Agent problems
Mon, Jan 23
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Marcos Mazari Armida
Carnegie Mellon
Categoricity of an AEC in three successive cardinals, Part N+1
Tue, Jan 24
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Riccardo Cristoferi
CMU
G-convergence of linear elliptic self-adjoint operators
Thu, Jan 26
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Tony Johansson
CMU
Random graphs and algorithms (thesis defense)
Thu, Jan 26
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
FINAL PUBLIC ORAL EXAMINATION FOR THE DEGREE OF DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY
Tony Johansson
Carnegie Mellon University
Random Graphs and Algorithms
Fri, Jan 27
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
Math Club Seminar
Jason Howell
College of Charleston
Some Applications of Differential Equations in the Social, Life, and Physical Sciences
Mon, Jan 30
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Marcos Mazari Armida
Carnegie Mellon
Categoricity of an AEC in three successive cardinals, The final talk
Tue, Jan 31
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Riccardo Cristoferi
CMU
G-convergence and Gamma-convergence
Tue, Jan 31
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Math Logic Seminar
Andy Zucker
Carnegie Mellon
An ultrafilter proof of the 2-dimensional Halpern-Lauchli Theorem
Tue, Jan 31
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Devi Borg
Carnegie Mellon University
Some views of Induction
Fri, Feb 3
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
Math Club Seminar
Nicholas Hoell
University of Toronto
Attenuated Tomography Old and New
Mon, Feb 6
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Paolo Guasoni
Boston University/Dublin City College
Nonlinear price impact and portfolio choice
Mon, Feb 6
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Sebastien Vasey
Carnegie Mellon
Superstability in abstract elementary classes, Part 1
Tue, Feb 7
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Giovanni Gravina
CMU
H-convergence
Thu, Feb 9
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Lutz Warnke
Georgia Tech
The phase transition in the random d-process
Thu, Feb 9
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Edriss Titi
Texas A & M and The Weizmann Institute of Science
Analysis of Certain Geophysical Models: Global Regularity and Finite-time Blowup Results
Mon, Feb 13
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Daniel Lacker
Brown University
From convex risk measures to large deviations and concentration of measure
Mon, Feb 13
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Sebastien Vasey
Carnegie Mellon
Superstability in abstract elementary classes, Part 2
Tue, Feb 14
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Matteo Rinaldi
CMU
Compactness of H-convergence and realtion with Gamma-convergence
Tue, Feb 14
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Son Van
Carnegie Mellon University
Laplacians and games
Thu, Feb 16
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Walter Craig
McMaster University
On the size of the Navier - Stokes singular set
Thu, Feb 16
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Joseph Briggs
CMU
Coloring directed Hamilton cycles online
Mon, Feb 20
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Jose Figueroa-Lopez
Washington University
Asymptotic methods in financial mathematics
Mon, Feb 20
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Deirdre Haskell
McMaster University
Residue field domination in theories of valued fields
Tue, Feb 21
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Matteo Rinaldi
CMU
The idea behind the variational structure of H-convergence
Tue, Feb 21
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Sebastien Vasey
Carnegie Mellon University
Non-elementary model theory
Thu, Feb 23
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Daniel Tenbrinck
University of Muenster
Graph Methods for Manifold-Valued Data
Fri, Feb 24
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
ACO Colloquium
Allan Sly
Princeton
Counting solutions to random constraint satisfaction problems
Mon, Feb 27
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Sergey Nadtochiy
University of Michigan
Control-Stopping Games for Market Microstructure
Mon, Feb 27
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Sebastien Vasey
Carnegie Mellon
Superstability in abstract elementary classes, Part 3
Tue, Feb 28
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Laurent Dietrich
CMU
Elliptic problem in varying domains
Tue, Feb 28
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Christopher Cox
Carnegie Mellon University
1 hat, 2 hat, red hat, blue hat
Thu, Mar 2
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Ernie Croot
Georgia Tech
New Applications of the Polynomial Method to Problems in Combinatorics
Mon, Mar 6
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Dmitry Kramkov
Carnegie Mellon University
Density of probability measures with martingale representation property
Mon, Mar 6
5:00 pm
Wean Hall 8201
Model Theory Seminar
Sebastien Vasey
Carnegie Mellon
Superstability in abstract elementary classes, Part 4
Tue, Mar 7
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Marco Caroccia
CMU
Linear elliptic problems with simultaneously varying operators and domains
Mon, Mar 13
4:30 pm

Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Andreea Minca
Cornell University
Fri, Mar 17
10:00 am
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Johannes Muhle-Karbe
University of Michigan
Please note day and time change.
Mon, Mar 20
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Zhipeng Liu
Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University
TBA
Tue, Mar 21
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Adrian Hagerty
CMU
Homogenization of linear elliptic operators - Part 1
Tue, Mar 21
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Hongkai Zhao
UC Irvine
Mon, Mar 27
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Cheng Ouyang
University of Illinois at Chicago
Sample path properties of SDEs driven by fractional Brownian motions
Tue, Mar 28
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Adrian Hagerty
CMU
Homogenization of linear elliptic operators - Part 2
Tue, Mar 28
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Craig Evans
UC Berkeley
Thu, Mar 30
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Rustum Choksi
McGill University
Mon, Apr 3
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Umut Cetin
London School of Economics
TBA
Tue, Apr 4
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Marshall Slemrod
UW Madison
Tue, Apr 4
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Janusz Ginster
CMU
Homogenization of non-linear elliptic operators
Thu, Apr 6
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Carlos Mora-Corral
Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
TBA
Fri, Apr 7
4:00 pm
TBA
CNA Joint Pitt-CNA Colloquium
Irene Gamba
UT Austin
Mon, Apr 10
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Samy Tindel
Purdue University
TBA
Tue, Apr 11
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Samuel Cohn
CMU
Basic theory of stochastic equations - Part 1
Thu, Apr 13
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Hoi Nguyen
Ohio State
TBA
Mon, Apr 17
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Yifan Sun
Carnegie Mellon University
TBA
Tue, Apr 18
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Samuel Cohn
CMU
Basic theory of stochastic equations - Part 2
Thu, Apr 20
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Chun-Hung Liu
Princeton
TBA
Tue, Apr 25
2:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Working Group Seminar
Peter Gladbach
CMU
Stochastic homogenization
Thu, Apr 27
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Yanir Rubinstein
Optimal transport via optimization?
Fri, Apr 28
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
Math Colloquium
Akshay Venkatesh
TBA
Mon, May 1
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Erhan Bayraktar
University of Michigan
TBA
Tue, May 2
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Celia Reina
University of Pennsylvania