CMU Campus
Department Home Undergraduate Graduate CNA CCF Information
Department of         Mathematical Sciences
Events People Colloquia and Seminars Conferences Centers Positions Areas of Research About the Department Alumni
Spring 2016 Events
Tue, Jan 12
12:30 pm
Wean 8220
Math Logic Seminar
Clinton Conley
Carnegie Mellon University
Amenability and μ-hyperfiniteness
Tue, Jan 12
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Robin Neumayer
University of Texas at Austin
A strong form of the quantitative Wulff inequality
Tue, Jan 12
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Yangxi Ou
Carnegie Mellon University
Time to Reflect: Queueing, Skorohod Map, and Brownian Motion
Fri, Jan 15
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Ibrahim Ekren
ETH Zurich
New Results on Viscosity Solutions of Path-Dependent PDEs
Tue, Jan 19
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Clive Newstead
Carnegie Mellon University
Species, Structures and Stuff
Wed, Jan 20
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Tianyi Zheng
Stanford University
Random walk parameters and the geometry of groups
Thu, Jan 21
3:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
ACO Seminar
Alexander Razborov
University of Chicago
Complexity of Algebraic and Semi-Algebraic Proofs
Thu, Jan 21
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Ryan Murray
CMU
Optimal Transport and Gerrymandering
Fri, Jan 22
1:30 pm
Gates 6115
ACO Seminar
Laszlo Babai
University of Chicago
Graph isomorphism in quasipolynomial time (3 hours long)
Fri, Jan 22
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Arjun Krishan
University of Utah
Stochastic Homogenization and First-Passage Percolation
Mon, Jan 25
4:30 pm
Wean 8220
Math Colloquium
Daniel Remenik
Universidad de Chile
Non-intersecting Brownian motions, KPZ, and random matrices
Tue, Jan 26
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Jing Zhang
Carnegie Mellon University
Discovering a Full But Irrational Self
Wed, Jan 27
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Thomas Trogdon
New York University, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences
Universality in numerical computations with random data
Mon, Feb 1
5:00 pm
Wean 7201
Model Theory Seminar
Devi Borg
Carnegie Mellon University
Accessible Categories, Part I
Tue, Feb 2
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Samuel Ventura
Carnegie Mellon University
Modern Football Analytics
Thu, Feb 4
1:30 pm
Wean 7218
CNA Seminar
Daniel Tenbrinck
Muenster University
Partial Difference Operators on Weighted Graphs for Point Cloud Processing - From 3D Surfaces to Machine Learning
Thu, Feb 4
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Charilaos Efthymiou
Georgia Tech
Reconstruction thresholds for the random colourings of G(n,m)
Mon, Feb 8
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Sebastian Herrmann
ETH
Hedging with Uncertainty-Averse Preferences
Mon, Feb 8
5:00 pm
Wean 7201
Model Theory Seminar
Devi Borg
Carnegie Mellon University
Accessible Categories, Part II
Tue, Feb 9
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Andrew Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
The Unbreakable Hilbert Schmidt
Thu, Feb 11
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Christopher Cox
Carnegie Melllon University
Ramsey numbers for partially-ordered sets
Mon, Feb 15
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Elnur Emrah
University of Wisconsin
Corner growth models with inhomogeneous exponential and geometric weights
Mon, Feb 15
5:00 pm
Wean 7201
Model Theory Seminar
Devi Borg
Carnegie Mellon University
Accessible Categories, Part III
Tue, Feb 16
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Panagiotis Souganidis
University of Chicago
Scalar conservation laws with rough time dependence
Tue, Mar 1
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Ming Chen
University of Pittsburgh
TBA
Mon, Mar 14
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Martin Herdegen
ETH
Equilibrium models with small transaction costs
Tue, Mar 15
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Ricardo Nochetto
University of Maryland
Thu, Mar 17
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Wolfgang Gatterbauer
Carnegie Mellon University
Oblivious Bounds on the Probability of Boolean Functions
Mon, Mar 21
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
David Saunders
University of Waterloo
Mathematical Analysis of Shared-Loss Fee Structures for Hedge Funds
Tue, Mar 22
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Marian Bocea
Loyola University Chicago
Thu, Mar 24
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Kevin Milans
West Virginia University
TBA
Mon, Mar 28
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Tetsuya Ishikawa
Carnegie Mellon University
Optimal Investment and Pricing in Models where the Underlying Asset May Default
Tue, Mar 29
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Juhi Jang
USC / IAS
Thu, Mar 31
1:30 pm
Wean 7218
CNA Seminar
Jeff Calder
UC Berkeley
TBA
Mon, Apr 4
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Thorsten Rheinlander
Vienna University of Technology
TBA
Tue, Apr 5
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Mikaela Iacobelli
University of Rome, Sapienza
Wed, Apr 6
4:00 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
James Sethian
UC Berkeley
Thu, Apr 7
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Matthew Kahle
Ohio State University
TBA
Tue, Apr 12
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Colloquium
Antoine Mellet
University of Maryland
Mon, Apr 18
4:30 pm
TBA
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Johannes Muhle-Karbe
Michigan University
TBA
Tue, Apr 19
4:30 pm
Wean 7218
CNA Colloquium
Suncica Canic
University of Houston
TBA
Thu, Apr 21
3:30 pm
Wean 8220
ACO Seminar
Andrew Suk
University of Chicago
TBA
Mon, Apr 25
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Praveen Kolli
Carnegie Mellon University
Central Limit Theorem for Rank-Based Diffusions
Tue, May 3
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Julian Fischer
Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig