CMU Campus
Department Home Undergraduate Graduate CNA CCF Information
Department of         Mathematical Sciences
Events People Colloquia and Seminars Conferences Centers Positions Areas of Research About the Department
Fall 2014 Events
Tue, Aug 26
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Brian Kell
Carnegie Mellon University
How many ways are there to cut up a chessboard?
Tue, Sep 2
12:30 pm
Wean 8220
Math Logic Seminar
James Cummings
Carnegie Mellon University
Ramsey theory and topology
Tue, Sep 2
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Andrew Zucker
Carnegie Mellon University
Devlin's Theorem
Thu, Sep 4
5:30 pm
WEH 8220
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Mor Harchol-Balter
Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon
Open Problems in Computer Science that Rely on Difficult Markov Chains
Mon, Sep 8
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Dmitry Kramkov
Carnegie Mellon University
A system of quadratic BSDEs arising in a price impact model
Tue, Sep 9
1:30 pm

CNA Seminar
Michel Chipot
University of Zurich
Limits of the Stokes and Navier-Stokes equations in a punctured periodic domain
Tue, Sep 9
2:30 pm
Wean 8220
Math Logic Seminar
Jacob Davis
Carnegie Mellon University
Families of universal graphs at successors of singulars
Tue, Sep 9
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Jing Zhang
Carnegie Mellon University
The Use of "Almost Everywhere" Theorems in Algorithmic Randomness
Thu, Sep 11
5:30 pm
Doerthy A302
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Andre Platzer
Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon
Logical Foundations of Cyber-Physical Systems
Mon, Sep 15
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Jianfeng Zhang
University of Southern California
Viscosity Solutions of Path Dependent PDEs
Mon, Sep 15
5:00 pm
Wean 8220
Model Theory Seminar
Adam Gutter
Carnegie Mellon University
Superstable Fields and Groups - Part I
Tue, Sep 16
12:30 pm
Wean 8220
Math Logic Seminar
Clinton Conley
Carnegie Mellon University
An introduction to Borel graph theory
Tue, Sep 16
1:30 pm

CNA Seminar
Dmitry Golovaty
University of Akron
Tue, Sep 16
5:30 pm
Wean Hall 8220
Graduate Seminar
Misha Lavrov
Carnegie Mellon University
Ramsey Theorems About Coloring Lattices
Mon, Sep 22
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Gautam Iyer
Carnegie Mellon University
Anomalous diffusion of tracer particles in fast cellular flows.
Mon, Sep 22
5:00 pm
Wean 8220
Model Theory Seminar
Adam Gutter
Carnegie Mellon University
Superstable Fields and Groups - Part II
Tue, Sep 23
1:30 pm
WEH 7218
CNA Seminar
Elaine Cozzi
Oregon State University
Solutions to the 2D Euler equations with velocity unbounded at infinity
Tue, Sep 23
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
Graduate Seminar
Zilin Jiang
Carnegie Mellon University
A Taste of Topological Methods in Combinatorics
Thu, Sep 25
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Robert Simione
CMU
An Optimiality Condition: Introduction to the Euler-Lagrange equation.
Mon, Sep 29
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Solesne Bourguin
Carnegie Mellon University
Density analysis of BSDEs
Tue, Sep 30
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Changhui Tan
University of Maryland
Flocking dynamics in different scales
Tue, Sep 30
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
Graduate Seminar
Sebastien Vasey
Carnegie Mellon University
Schanuel's conjecture and excellence
Thu, Oct 2
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Sivaram Ambikasaran
Courant Institute
Fast algorithms for data analysis
Fri, Oct 3
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Sivaram Ambikasaran
Courant Institute, New York University
Fast solvers for elliptic partial differential equations
Mon, Oct 6
4:30 pm
Cohon University Center - McConomy Auditorium
Nash Lecture - Finance
Paul Glasserman
Columbia Business School
Systemic Risk and the Risk Management Paradox
Mon, Oct 6
5:00 pm
Wean 8220
Model Theory Seminar
Will Boney
University of Illinois at Chicago
Some Model Theory of Torsion Modules
Tue, Oct 7
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Kenneth Ho
Stanford University
Tue, Oct 7
4:30 pm
Wean Hall 7500
Nash Lecture - Finance
Paul Glasserman
Columbia Business School
Market-Triggered Contingent Capital: Equilibrium Price Dynamics
Wed, Oct 8
4:30 pm
Wean 7500
Math Colloquium
Ken Ho
Stanford
Fast direct methods for structured matrices
Thu, Oct 9
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Susan Everingham
RAND Corporation
Tue, Oct 14
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Ignacio Tomas
University of Maryland
PDE models for Ferrofluids and their Numerical Analysis
Thu, Oct 16
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Matteo Rinaldi
CMU
Mon, Oct 20
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Constantinos Spiliopoulos
Boston University
Thu, Oct 23
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Benjamin Schweinhart
Princeton University
Mon, Oct 27
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Gustavo Schwenkler
Boston University School of Management
Tue, Oct 28
1:30 pm

CNA Seminar
Josh Ballew
CMU
Thu, Oct 30
5:30 pm
Wean 8220
SIAM Chapter Seminar
Ben Tengelsen
CMU
Thu, Nov 6
1:30 pm
Wean Hall 7218
CNA Seminar
Jacob Bedrossian
Mon, Nov 10
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Sergio Pulido
Swiss Finance Institute @ EPFL
Tue, Nov 11
1:30 pm

CNA Seminar
Wujun Zhang
University of Maryland
Tue, Nov 18
1:30 pm

CNA Seminar
David Kaspar
Mon, Dec 1
5:00 pm
Porter Hall 226C
Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Igor Cialenco
IIT
Mon, Feb 9
5:00 pm

Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Johannes Muhle-Karbe
ETH - Zurich
Mon, Mar 23
5:00 pm

Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Umut Cetin
LSE
TBA
Mon, Mar 30
5:00 pm

Probability/Math Finance Seminar
Umut Cetin
LSE
TBA